Soto HQ

A place to ask a Zen teacher. Experimental forum.

Moderator: Spiritual Do-gooder

Great Sage EofH

Soto HQ

Post by Great Sage EofH » Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:24 pm

I understand that Soto in Japan grants various honorary titles to scholars and possibly artists. If so how can this be arranged? Travel to Japan and hire a translator? I don’t see myself living in a monastery for multiple years. I’ve been a working artist and poet and Zen student since 1970, but I can’t give up working in art and writing. My degree is in Art and Design.
--- Eric H., also know as Sun Wu Kong, "an authentic genuine human being"
Birth is thus
Death is thus
Verse or no verse
What’s the fuss?

jundocohen

Re: Soto HQ

Post by jundocohen » Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:07 am

SunWuKong wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:24 pm
I understand that Soto in Japan grants various honorary titles to scholars and possibly artists. If so how can this be arranged? Travel to Japan and hire a translator? I don’t see myself living in a monastery for multiple years. I’ve been a working artist and poet and Zen student since 1970, but I can’t give up working in art and writing. My degree is in Art and Design.
Hi,

I have never heard of this, and certainly not an honorary title that one requests for oneself. Perhaps there is something that I am missing in your question?

Gassho, Jundo
Teacher at Treeleaf Zendo, a Soto Zen Sangha, an online practice place for folks who cannot commute to a Zen Center due to health, living in remote areas, work or family needs. The focus is Shikantaza 'Just Sitting' Zazen http://www.treeleaf.org

Great Sage EofH

Post by Great Sage EofH » Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:12 am

It’s going to take me a minute to find, my computer crashed and I only have my phone. Then there’s elGatitos question which I’m stuck on. It was on a .jp domain
Birth is thus
Death is thus
Verse or no verse
What’s the fuss?

Great Sage EofH

Post by Great Sage EofH » Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:42 pm

Wikipedia

Zen ranks and hierarchy